0
March
30
2017

King Lear

Next Upcoming Date: Thursday, March 30 2017

King Lear

by William Shakespeare
directed by Joseph Haj
Shakespeare’s epic tragedy
For the first time in more than 20 years the Guthrie will stage Shakespeare’s searing masterpiece. After years of ruling Britain in peace, a respected King Lear decides to relinquish his crown and divide his kingdom among his three daughters. But when their love and loyalty falter, so does Lear’s sanity. King Lear is a gripping portrait of fathers, daughters and a once-mighty ruler thwarted by his own hubris and betrayed by a vanishing mind.

POST-PLAY DISCUSSIONS
The best conversations happen after hours. Stay late on these dates for a discussion with the artists who bring the show to life.
Sunday, February 19 at 1 p.m.
Tuesday, February 21 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 26 at 1 p.m.
Saturday, March 4 at 1 p.m.
Saturday, March 18 at 1 p.m.

How'd They Do That? Workshop
Learn from Guthrie artists and staff how a production is created - from literary background to set and costume design to the staging of the play. 
Saturday, March 25 at 9 a.m.

ACCESS DATES
ASL Performances
Friday, March 17 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 18 at 1 p.m.

Audio Described Performances
Friday, March 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 18 at 1 p.m.

Open Captioned Performances
Friday, March 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 11 at 1 p.m., 
Wednesday, March 29 at 1 p.m

Upcoming Dates For This Event:
  • Thursday, March 30
  • Friday, March 31
  • Saturday, April 1
  • Sunday, April 2
Related Partners

Guthrie Theater

Featuring three stages under one roof you should definitely plan a night out at the Guthrie Theater. Enjoy traditional as well as non-traditional shows and events throughout the year. When…

More Info

Guthrie Theater

Featuring three stages under one roof you should definitely plan a night out at the Guthrie Theater. Enjoy traditional as well as non-traditional shows and events throughout the year. When…

More Info